Annabel Shields

1. What’s your name?

Annabel Shields

2. How old are you?

26

3. Where is your nearest store?

Stokesley

4. Where are you based?

Stanley, Crook – Co. Durham

5. What are your disciplines?

Show jumping

6. Describe yourself and your team:

Hard working, ambitious, dedicated and professional.

7. Who trains you?

My dad.

8. What is your greatest equestrian achievement so far?

Becoming National Champion in 2017 on my horse Wet Wet Wet. In 2018, I got eight qualifying tickets for HOYS.

9. Do you have any goals for this year?

To get some HOYS qualifications and some great results. My aim would be to get to more high performance shows and of course the National Championships.

10. What are your long term equestrian career goals?

My way of thinking is to make my goals more achievable by having a ladder of smaller goals. Continuing to better my horses and myself by jumping at bigger international shows. (5*). To jump for my country, a bit of a long shot but everyone’s dream is to compete at the Olympics.

11. What competitions/events will you be attending year?

Royal Highland Show, Great Yorkshire Show, Balmoral – Ireland, Weirden – Holland, Lier – Belgium and many more. I will keep you posted!

12. What is the highest level you have competed to?

Jumping 1.60m in the ‘Cock of the North’ at the GYS and many Grand Prix at 2 & 3* level.

13. Name your favourite competition and why:

For a northern person the GYS, the atmosphere is amazing, a fantastic ring and great crowd support.  HOYS is always a brilliant venue to show case my younger string of horses. As internationals abroad, I love the time keeping, the size of the rings and the quality of horses and riders.

14. How did you get into horses?

Following in the footsteps of my Dad who was a successful show jumper.

15. How many horses do you currently have/ride?

I always have between 20 – 25 horses in. They range from foals to my Grand Prix horses. 15 are competition horses.

16. What’s the favourite horse you’ve had or have?

My ultimate best friend and partner in crime, Mr Blue aka Wet Wet Wet. The dream maker taking me places and helping me make some unbelievable memories.

17. What is your favourite equestrian brand and why?

Toscana and Equiline are my favourites, although I do enjoy wearing a variety of different brands.

18. Who do you admire in the horseworld?

I really do admire many within my sport but to name a few would be McLain Ward and Marcus Ehning for their terrific style, sensational speed and remarkable winning ways.

19. Name the one product you can’t live without and why?

For the horse side of things I could not do without ‘Cowboy Magic Yellow out Shampoo’ as I have quite a few greys. For myself I would say gloves I could not ride without them. (I am always cold too!).

20. What would you say your life motto is?

Work hard, dream big and don’t give up. Love what you have and they’ll give you everything they’ve got.

21. Have you competed abroad and where?

Yes, numerous times especially in Holland, Belgium and Ireland.

Top